Hello World!

Hello there! My name is Jessica but I prefer to skip the formalities, so feel free to call me Jess. I am a self-taught software engineer residing in sunny California(around Los Angeles county).

My journey as a software engineer started around August 2018. Previously, I went to school for graphic design. I grew up into arts and familiarized myself with the intricacies of design when I enrolled in college(Typography was my strong point). Out of sheer curiosity and being surrounded by friends who were Comp-Sci majors, I decided to dabble with the basics of web development. I always enjoyed learning and found that knowledge is best learned when you can share it with others.

Around the same time, I thought of an old friend of mine, as well as one who I can call my brother, Corey. I remember he went to school for Computer Science and is currently employed as a developer. Corey took me under his wing as my mentor. As a mentee, I was honored to learn from him as much as I possibly could. Corey was also mentoring others at the time, who also landed their first jobs as software developers! He created a community called Better Developer where he mentored and collaborated with other self-taught developers starting out on their journeys and helped them prep up for their first jobs. To this day, he is currently still my mentor and we work closely with one another.

I genuinely believe that with my eye for design and my drive for learning different aspects of technology, I am able to get the gears moving and progress in my goal to break into the industry. I can be able to both create and design a product that is deemed useful and life-changing for others. Technology can be a great drive to amplify your voice in the industry and beyond, and I wish to accomplish that for others who also strive to become leaders of our future.

In the next and upcoming blog post: I will post updates on my journey as a developer and also what I've currently been working on.